Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins

Another item is checked out on my list (https://thehungarytraveler.com/2017/11/08/to-do-list-before-the-new-year/). I already knew how to make a carrot cake, but this time I wanted to find a healthier recipe that fits my diet. I also had a little helper that day, because Aisha was sick and couldn’t go to school so I thought, the easiest the better. I found the recipe on http://cookieandkate.com. I love her site! Check it out for more recipes. You know, Thanksgiving is coming up!

I had to change a few things since the kids don’t like raisins and I didn’t want to complicate it with walnuts or other extra ingredients. So my version looks like this:

1 ¾  cups whole wheat flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground ginger
¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups peeled and grated carrots (it was 4-5 carrots for me, but they were not really big carrots)
⅓ cup melted coconut oil
½ cup maple syrup
2 eggs (room temperature)
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
sprinkles for decoration

In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and salt. Blend with a whisk. Add the carrots and stir.

 

 

In a different mixing bowl combine the wet ingredients. The melted oil with the maple syrup, then add the eggs, beat well, then there comes the yogurt and the vanilla extract.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry with a big spoon.

I used muffin wrappers because they are fun for kids and you don’t have to grease the muffin tin, but use butter or non-stick cooking spray if necessary. Preheat the oven for 425 Fahreinheit (about 220Celsius) and pour the batter evenly into the cups. Sprinkle them with sugar, sprinkles or walnuts and bake for about 15 minutes. Mine needed a little longer, but when you see they turn gold, stick a toothpick in them to see if they are done.

 

 

According to Cookie and Kate, you can store the muffins for 2 days on room temperature or 4 days in the fridge.

7 thoughts on “Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins”

Leave a comment